

1st Announcement for

International Symposium on Systems & Human Science for Safe, Secure, and Reliable Society SSR2003

November 19, 20, 2003

Library Hall, Toyonaka Campus, Osaka University

Cosponsored by

Graduate School of Engineering Science, Osaka University Society for Instrumentation and Control Engineers (SICE) Robotics Society of Japan (RSJ) In cooperation with IEEE Robotics and Automation Society (IEEE RAS) IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society (IEEE SMC) Institute of Systems, Control and Information Engineers (ISCIE) Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers (JSME)

Securing and supporting our daily life, building reliable infrastructures against large scale disasters, and preventing unexpected human errors are crucial issues in our highly developed complex society. If the human nature is analyzed and treated properly in the process of designing machines and systems, we may create safer, more reliable, and more intelligent machines and systems that can support the safe, secure, and reliable society (SSR society). The systems science deals with analysis and synthesis for large scale complex systems, while the human science covers various aspects of the human nature, such as human behavior, social psychology, and human communications. Integration of these two sciences would be a powerful tool for our society. Osaka University, SICE, and RSJ have joined forces with IEEE, ISICE, and JSME, and to bring together, through this new symposium, researchers and engineers with different backgrounds but with a common interest in creation of the new science to share their knowledge and address the latest challenges.

Topics

Communication support for emergency management

Diagnosis for complex system	Integration of systems & human sciences
Human error	Measurement for sense of security
Monitoring	Risk Management and Decision Analysis
Human behavior recognition	Sensing
Security robot	Supporting robot

Important dates

Full paper submission is due on July 1, 2003.Notification of acceptance is on August 1, 2003.Final camera-ready submission is due on September 30, 2003.

Organization

Honorary Chair: Prof. Seiji Inokuchi (Osaka Univ.)

Advisory Committee Chair: Prof. Hiroyuki Tamura (Osaka Univ.)

Prof. Makoto Mizukawa (Shibaura Inst. Tech.), Prof. Kazuhiro Kosuge (Tohoku Univ.), Prof. Toshio Fukuda (Nagoya Univ.), Prof. Susumu Fuji (Kobe Univ.), Prof. Tsuneo Yoshikawa (Kyoto Univ.), Prof. Toshiro Noritsugu (Okayama Univ.), Prof. Toshiaki Miura (Osaka Univ.), Dr. Eiichi Ohno (Mitsubishi Elec. Co.), Mr. Yasushi Kurosaki (KHI), Prof. Keith W. Hipel (Univ. Waterloo), Dr. Norman Caplan (NSF), Prof. Carlos Balaguer (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)

Organizing Committee Chair: Prof. Tatsuo Arai(Osaka Univ.)

Prof. Takao Fujii(Osaka Univ.), Prof. Shogo Nishida(Osaka Univ.), Prof. Toshimitsu Ushio(Osaka Univ.), Prof. Toshi Takamori (Kobe Univ.), Prof. Takeo Oomichi(Meijo Univ.), Prof. Sadao Kawamura(Ritsumeikan Univ.), Prof. Kazuo Furuta (Univ. Tokyo), **Dr. Marek Makowski(IIASA), Dr. Tetsuo Kotoku (AIST)**

Technical Committee Chair: Prof. Shigeru Yamamoto (Osaka Univ.)

Prof. Kenji Inoue(Osaka Univ.), Dr. Yasushi Mae(Osaka Univ.), Prof. Kazuhisa Makino(Osaka Univ.), Dr. Yoshio Iwai(Osaka Univ.), Dr. Shinsaku Hiura(Osaka Univ.), Dr. Yoshinori Hijikata(Osaka Univ.), Prof. Haruyuki Yoshida (Osaka Electro-Communication Univ.)